more surgery. get your PINK on. save second base. feel your boobs…

It is October!   So I feel like I need to post….

Especially since I have been at Duke three times in the past week and sat for HOURS watching people just like you and me go in and out for cancer treatments.

Especially because early diagnosis is your best defense against this disease.

Especially since I am having another surgery today because of this BRCA mutation (more on that in a sec).

YOU go ahead and schedule your mammogram and/or do your monthly self breast exam! I mean it!!  Do it!

1 in 8 women will develop breast cancer

That means more than one of you reading this blog will be develop breast cancer in your lifetime!!!!

Cancer does not discriminate.If you are reading this I am sure you all know that I was diagnosed in July 2011 at age 29.  Check out these projections for 2013:

breast cancer 1

If you are one of these 232,000 women, the earlier your diagnosis, the better your outcome!

Put it on your to-do list: SCHEDULE MAMMOGRAM.  If you are lucky and you hurry, maybe you can fit it in this calendar year and you have already met your deductibles!

******************************************

As I mentioned above, today I will undergo another surgery and the last part of my treatment, so to speak … one more surgery to ensure that I eliminate every potential risk from my body that I possibly can; one last little bit of myself.  I have held on to them for as long as I could…but the ovaries have to go. 

I want to say this is a bittersweet time, but I am having a hard time finding the sweetness about it.  Yes, I know it is the smartest thing to do for my health, and hopefully a hysterectomy means that I am reducing my cancer risk to a negligible level.  Hopefully it will also lift a little burden from my subconscious…my 40%+ ovarian cancer risk has been lingering somewhere in the back of my mind!

But mostly all I can think about is the finality of not having any more babies.  I KNOW I already have three of them, by the way.  But maybe I wanted more…maybe I could have convinced Brandon somewhere down the line! 😉   At any rate, since that is not going to happen we took the crib down this weekend and took the changing table out of the house.  Sad times for this mama!   All three kids used both so I am pretty sad to see them go!

Life moves on though, and in my mind, this surgery completes the checklist the doctors gave me over two years ago when this crazy journey began.

My surgery is scheduled for tomorrow at 1:45pm.  Pray for me!!!

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to more surgery. get your PINK on. save second base. feel your boobs…

  1. Kathy Comer says:

    Candace I will be praying for you and your family. May God Bless you all.
    Kathy Comer

  2. Roger Church says:

    Candace – I will pray for your recovery from this surgery and for all of the emotions that you are and will experience. Update your blog when you can and let us know how you are doing. Our little family looks forward to seeing you and your family over the holidays. Blessings! Roger

  3. Lavon & Ralph Motsinger says:

    Dear, dear Candace! You are a dear sweet woman; one who loves being a mother. I will be praying for you and your precious family. Sending hugs and kisses from me and Uncle Eugene.
    Aunt Lavon

  4. Krista says:

    Praying the surgery and everything relating to it goes smoothly!

  5. Ruth Wilder says:

    Praying for you and your family! Love you, Larry & Ruth

  6. Colleen says:

    Praying for your surgery, recovery, and peace…. So much love and ((((hugs))))) to you and your family, Candace!!!!!!!

  7. Kristi Wilson says:

    Thinking of you! You have so much strength hugs

  8. Jan (Welshenbaugh) says:

    Thank you, Candace, that even in your pain of having to relinquish your ovaries, you continue to remind us of how important it is to do breast exams and have mammograms. I have friends young (like you!), middle aged, and old (like me!) who have or recently had breast cancer. It does not discriminate. We are praying for you and trusting our Lord to give you strength and especially comfort.

  9. Teresa Ammons says:

    We are so glad you are recovering well. I wish you the best with no hot flashes. I know my day will be coming soon! Let me know if you need anything. I heard you have been doing great. Tell Mr. Wade Happy Birthday and his picture looked good. Keep me posted on his eye updates. Date: Thu, 24 Oct 2013 14:54:35 +0000 To: andyammons@hotmail.com

Leave a comment