Yes, He Knows Just What I Need

“My Jesus knows when I am burdened, He knows how much my heart can bear, He lifts me up when I am sinking, and brings me joy beyond compare.” –Lister

I am trying to figure out where this journey all started for me…when did God start preparing me for this battle?

  • Was it when I was five years old and my mom was first diagnosed with breast cancer — when playing doctor became the most common game for my siblings and cousins after Sunday lunch …”Cut Boob,” anyone?  hehe
  • Was it with a tape of Tennessee Ernie Ford Hymns that Frannie gave me when I was eight or nine years old, instilling in me a deep love for gospel music?
  • Was it the many, many nights that Grandma played her piano, until midnight, even — there, by the piano where I learned the truth of scripture through song?
  • Was it the $100 that PaPa offered to give me if I would learn to play the piano for myself instead of Grandma having to play for me?  Novel idea! 😉  And I did it!!

Or maybe that’s not part of the story at all.

  • Maybe it started in 11th grade when Brandon asked me to the prom?  To my knowledge we had never said a word to each other in high school.  And then we barely said another word to each other again until college…but who’s counting?
  • Maybe it was during a long season of being single wherein I was able to spend a lot of time at doctors offices and hospitals with those I loved, feeling oddly comfortable in a medical environment.
  • Maybe it was the unexpected romance where God brought Brandon and I together again?  We dated, planned a wedding, got married and bought a house in a 14 month time span and Brandon is my knight in shining armor. ❤
  • Maybe it was God giving us 3 babies in 2.5 years…and I didn’t have twins or triplets!!  Here I had been thinking of Wade as our little “oopsie baby” (although for the life of me I couldn’t figure out how that happened!), and now I know…

God used all of those things and oh, so much more to prepare me for this battle that I am about to embark on.  To show me that He is sovereign.  To show me that He has a plan greater than mine.  To show me that He has equipped me with all of the weapons necessary to win this battle!

  • Things like the VERY BEST, most loving, most Godly parents, grandparents and family you could imagine.
  • Things like the best and most kind and generous inlaws you could ever dream of or wish for.
  • Things like a sister to bring fake eyelashes right away when she finds out you will probably lose all your hair with the chemotherapy.
  • Things like an overly generous gift from a group of friends so that you can keep in touch while you’re at the hospital. ❤

And, of course friends and acquaintances, brothers and sisters in Christ and like-minded believers who I hope will join with me on this journey of faith and prayer.

I intend for this blog to be a place where I can share the nitty gritty details and prayer requests.

Ephesians 6: 18-20

18 With all prayer and petition pray at all times in the Spirit, and with this in view, be on the alert with all perseverance and petition for all the saints, 19 and pray on my behalf, that utterance may be given to me in the opening of my mouth, to make known with boldness the mystery of the gospel, 20 for which I am an ambassador in chains; that in proclaiming it I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Yes, He Knows Just What I Need

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. shefrn1 says:

    Love you candace…you are so stronge and you will get through this…thinking of you always

  3. Stephanie Coggins Motley says:

    Praying for you and your beautiful family.

  4. Paula Jo says:

    We are with you always <3! Love Paula

  5. ashlee2281 says:

    Hey Candace, I heard the news and am so sorry. I’m praying for you and Brandon and the rest of your family. Your kids are so cute and Martha loves them to death.

  6. Heather says:

    Fran shared this with me and after the shock of the news, I immediately logged on to read your blog. You are an incredible person and I don’t know why you were led down this path but I have no doubt that you will walk it with grace and strength. There are many people around you that love and support you and we all here for you with our thoughts, prayers and extra hands and hearts.

    xxxx
    Heather

  7. Debbie Means says:

    praying for you daily sweet sister in Christ .

  8. Tommie Angel says:

    Candace,
    I just learned of this battle you are facing! You are definitely in my thoughts and prayers! You have amazed me in so many ways already…an awesome mom, obviously a very loved child, sister, friend, and wife…a Christian example that is seen in every breath you take! I pray for peace, comfort, love, and strength for every step of the way! I believe so strongly in the power of prayer. I know you are a prayer warrior and have many friends, family, and acquaintances who are praying with and for you! You know where to find me if I can ever do anything for you! Love and ceaseless prayers for you and your family. Rejoicing in all HE does and will continue to do in and through you dear friend! God Bless You dear one!
    Tommie Angel

  9. Cynthia says:

    With a positive outlook on things you can beat this life’s challenge. God tells us to have faith as a grain of a mustard seed (Matt 17:20) mountains can be moved. This is a mountain that can be climbed! Like you said He knows just how much you can bear. Be strong for your children an know that God is a great healer. Will keep you and your family lifted in prayer.

  10. Hi, Candace we want you to know that you are in our prayers. I’m happy to know that during this difficult time you are finding comfort and strength in God’s love.

  11. Hi Candace:

    I’m Jan Welshenbaugh’s sister and just wanted you to know that you are in my thoughts and prayers. I loved the way you expressed your journey so far. You are a remarkable young woman!

    Love from Tucson, Arizona
    Sandy Brugler

  12. Harriet Carter says:

    God is faithful! Stand on His Word! Praying for you!
    Lamentations 3:21-27 21-This I recall to my mind, Therefore I have hope. 22-Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, Because His compassions fail not. 23-They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness. 24-“The Lord is my portion,” saith my soul, ” Therefore I hope in Him!” 25-The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, To the soul who seeks Him. 26- It is good that one should hope and wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord. 27- It is good for a man to bear the yoke in his youth.
    1 Peter 5:10 But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you.
    Praise God for your healing!
    Harriet-Sanford Pediatrics

  13. Cayce Maples says:

    Candace,
    I am praying fervently for you!! I know that God will wrap you in His loving arms! Dear Heavenly Father, I pray for this precious lady and her beautiful family! We don’t know what the future holds, but You do, and we know that we can give all of our worries and fears to You! God, please help heal Candace, and bring her comfort in this very stressful time! Be with her family and friends, bringing them close around her to bring support and comfort! Thank You Lord for all of the blessings You pour out on us, and thank You for the many miracles that You still bestow upon us! We know that nothing is impossible with You! Thank You for her testimony! We love You and praise You! In Jesus’ precious name, Amen!
    Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you (besides prayer) which you can consider done!!
    Cayce Maples

  14. Gail Messer says:

    Hey Candace ~ I’m your Aunt Terri’s friend Gail. I feel like I’ve known you all my life since we worked together for 20 years while you were growing up, so I not only heard about Laura, but also all of the many neices and nephews. I have been praying for you (via Laura’s post on facebook) and Terri asked me today to pray for you also ~ not knowing that I already had been. You are very blessed to have such a loving and caring extended family. I remember praying for your Mom and will certainly keep you lifted up as well. Just remember to lean on Jesus ~ He will be there to carry you through it all.
    Love and prayers, Gail Crocker Messer

  15. Amanda Lewis says:

    Hey Candace, this is Amanda Lewis….over a year later I’m just reading the beginning of your “valley walk”. Thank God for placing you in my life- your life story is amazing!

Leave a Reply

