BRCA Gene Mutation – Post 1

I promised a post on my visit with the Hereditary Gene Clinic, and as it turns out, now there will be two (or three!).  It was a very eye-opening experience and is really too  much for me to process in one post, even a week later.

First of all, the test was super easy…I swished Scope in my mouth and spit it into a test tube to send to the one lab in the country that provides comprehensive breast gene studies.  Test results typically take 2-4 weeks, but we’re hoping that I will have my results back sometime later this week.  I’ll keep everyone posted on that!

Before I get started with the nitty gritty (still working on that post), I should mention that I did go back to look for the genetics paper I wrote on the BRCA1/BRCA2 genes for a genetics class while I was at State.   Obviously I’m not [very] old and I typed all of my papers in college on a computer, but I think most of them are on floppy disks that are who knows where!  So of all the papers I wrote in college, I have TWO of them on my desktop computer.  Two papers out of two hundred?  Well, it seemed like two hundred…, but anyway, I found it!  All 15 pages of it (and not a sentence more).  All poorly written, no doubt in the wee hours of the morning just before it was due — or possibly later, haha.

It was like deja vu reading through it; it was *almost* like I wrote the script for the beginning of my appointment last week.  I wrote about sporadic vs hereditary vs genetic cancers, about DNA and the BRCA1/2 mutations and the chromosomes they were located on.  I even seemed to grasp the percentages — the percentages that TOTALLY blew me away during the appointment on Tuesday…and yet, I was adamant in my opinion that I did not want to be tested.  That was in 2002.  Almost 10 years ago.  I will spare you the excerpts from that!

So honestly, although I am infinitely interested now, I didn’t want to know back then.   What I do wish is that I had been more proactive in my screening (with both self-breast exams and formal examinations and/or mammograms).

Not to sound like a broken record, but as usual, God in His infinite wisdom reveals things to us in His perfect time.

Ecclesiastes 3:11 (NIV)

11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yetno one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BRCA Gene Mutation – Post 1

  1. Vickie Strickland says:

    Candace, I don’t know you but I am a menber at Cool Springs Baptist and so I am praying for you and your family. Thank you for this information, my sister has just gone through breast CA and needed this information for her girls. Your children are beautiful and I am so glad you have friends and family to help with them. May God bless you and give you peace and comfort as you begin your treatment. One day at a time sweet Jesus who loves us so. In Christ Vickie Strickland

  2. Pingback: Praise Report – BRCA 1 – Part 4 | Great is Thy Faithfulness

Leave a Reply

