“A New Normal”

As I sat down to write last night I was excited to tell you that I had an “almost normal” weekend.  Then I remembered I had already told you about my “almost normal” day last week.  So it is occurring to me, that as I move forward with my treatment I may have fewer and fewer days that I consider to be normal.  And that makes me sad.

I’m not gonna let that stop me from telling you about my normal weekend though. 😉

I was able to go to Ella’s birthday party!  I have really loved having birthday parties for the girls so far, but didn’t have the time or energy to get it all together for Ella.  I was so thankful that my cousin Laura let us crash Callie’s party on Saturday night.  MeMa even made Ella her own cake.

Our good friends Chris and Jenni came for a visit on Saturday morning…the guys stayed here and watched the kids while Jenni ushered me to Ms. Lacy’s for brunch, which was very nice, and I had a chance to see some other loving, familiar faces. ❤   It was nice to be out of the house for something other than a doctor’s appointment.

Jenni is also friends with one of the Duke chemo nurses and she is going to make sure that we are well-taken-care-of…she already had lots of suggestions from a nurse’s perspective that I think will be helpful.  And honestly, I now have heard from several sources (first hand and second hand) that maybe chemo won’t be as bad as I think it will be!  I’m trying to maintain a positive attitude.  Thank you for the words of encouragement, prayers, phone calls, etc…I really do appreciate all of them so much!

And for the record, my chemo is rescheduled for this Thursday.  I think I mentioned it before, but I will have Part I and Part II of the Sentinel Node Biopsy done today and tomorrow, so it is going to be a busy week!

*******************

I had fun trying on wigs on Friday.  I’m glad I got the chance to do that while I still have my real hair.  I had already chosen the one I thought looked the best before I asked all of you to weigh in, and I’m happy to report that we are all in agreement:  Wig 2 is the winner!  For the record, 1 and 4 were never in the running!!!  I thought 3 was okay, but Brandon didn’t really like it, and although I liked the style of number 5, I couldn’t get over the color.  The good news is, if I get tired of it or don’t like it, I can go trade it in for a different one!  For free.  Isn’t that so nice?!

*******************

But back to this whole idea of an “almost normal” weekend — I have heard the phrase “a new normal” before, and not particularly liked it, probably because I felt like it didn’t apply to me, for whatever reason!  Since my diagnosis, however, I’ve heard it again and again and I have to admit, it makes a little more sense now. 🙂

The changes in routine are not minor and they haven’t gone unnoticed, but the new routine is starting to feel more normal.  Please continue to pray specifically for my children that they will adapt to me being in and out of the house at irregular intervals.

Happy Monday!

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “A New Normal”

  1. Tiffany Chalmers McKiver says:

    I haven enjoyed reading about your journey so far and I will continue to follow you. You and your family are constantly in my prayers. We both know God is the best doctor there is.

  2. Denise Ingram says:

    Happy Monday to you and yours Candace! Praying everyday for all of you!!!!!!!!!! p.s. Glad #2 was the winner! Love you guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Just catching up, but wig #2 was definitely my favorite! Sending lots of prayers for all of you. glad you’re finding some “normal” here and there.

Leave a Reply

