I’m Back!

Sorry I have been missing in action for the past day or so…I didn’t actually go anywhere  – the hospital takes up a lot of time, and napping afterwards does also!  Yesterday we had to leave the house at 4:30am to sign in for surgery on time.  That makes for a long day for everyone involved.

***********************

PRAISE REPORT!

I am happy to report that the procedure went very well.  For the first time ever, I did not get sick after anesthesia.  A special thanks to those who have signed up to pray and fast for me. Every time I have felt anxiety creep in, I am reminded of God’s provision for me, and sometimes that is in the form of dear friends and family praying on my behalf.  Thank you.

So the procedure wasn’t nearly as difficult as the port placement I had the other week.  I have a little tenderness, but overall I am feeling fine!   Also, I don’t have final pathology reports back yet, but Brandon said the surgeon told him that the lymph nodes “looked good” and he only removed three.  Please continue to pray that my lymph system be unaffected by this cancer!

**********************

A Correction:

Have I mentioned that I feel really confident in my team of doctors and nurses at Duke?  Well, I do.  And that includes the very smart genetic counselor who spoke with us at the Hereditary Cancer Clinic, Robin.  She has helped me understand about the BRCA gene mutations and the risks involved.  I had a few percentages wrong in my BRCA Gene Mutation – Post 3, but that information has now been corrected.  Thanks, Robin!

***********************

A month ago:

A month ago I was going about my business…taking care of the kids, trying to keep the house clean and get supper on the table every night.  Then I went to the doctor…

I was originally told that my first appointment would be August 17… what a privilege then,  to actually be starting my chemotherapy tomorrow instead of just getting started with my first appointments!

So yep, tomorrow at 9:15am is game time!  I don’t have to give blood or see the doctor, or anything…just straight in for the chemo!   I am feeling MUCH better this week than I did last week.  I questioned the delay last Friday, but I honestly feel so much stronger both physically and emotionally than I did then, and am trusting that chemo will be easier to tolerate since I am feeling better.  I hope the fact that I did not get sick after the anesthesia proves that there is a combination of medicines they can give me that will help control the nausea.

Also, I feel like I had several good days with the children which is a relief for me.  I am in the midst an additional 10 day lifting ban after Tuesday’s procedure, but I will be able to tolerate it!

Specific Prayer Requests:

  • That the chemo work effectively on the cancer
  • That I have the strength to endure the chemo and keep “praising through the storm!”
  • That childcare arrangements become very clear as the needs become apparent

I feel like we’ll know a little better how to plan for childcare after I finish this treatment.

Thank you all for your continued prayers, and if you think of me in the morning, say another one for me and my family, plus for any opportunity to share about God’s love to those around me.

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Back!

  1. Teresa Wall says:

    Praying that satan is “behind” you today!!! and throughout this journey. I also wanted to share my devotion scripture this morning. “A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken.” Ecclesiates 4:12. I pray you take comfort in knowing you are not in this alone. There are many that “have your back” ;-). Sending much love always!!

  2. Teresa Ammons says:

    Praying hard for you all, and for family and friends. Martina McBryde sang the best song about breast cancer this morning. I think its called I’ll stand by you. She had me and others in tears, it seemed like it was written about your life. She had Robin Roberts on Good Morning America in her video, and after it played she was in big tears. She said they are happy tears.

  3. Cindy says:

    The song is “I’m Gonna Love You Through It” from her new album “Eleven” due out in October. Here is a link to the vidoe: http://www.cmt.com/videos/martina-mcbride/682633/im-gonna-love-you-through-it.jhtml You are in my prayers and I hope the women in the video can lift your spirits!

Leave a Reply

