One Week

It has been one week since my treatment and it is one week until my next treatment.

I am up way too late…one of the nurses warned about getting my days and nights mixed up.  Oops!

I was going to share a short video clip of the girls getting ready for their first day of preschool and catch everyone up on what’s been going on with me.

Then I realized there were videos that were on the camera that I didn’t know were there. Videos from the last week when I was sick and asleep from my medication.  I’m so thankful for those little glimpses of “normal”…thankful that somebody picked up the video camera and recorded some for me!

Anyway, I couldn’t get my computer to upload the video files, so you’ll have to wait for those little sneak peeks into our daily life.  I know you’ll be checking back minute by minute for that.  Haha.

Since it is way past my bedtime and I have a consult at Duke at 8:00 am tomorrow, I’ll just say that the past two days have been better.  No nausea and I actually left the house today.  I am still extremely tired, but I’m getting stronger, and I think (hope, pray) by Monday I’ll be able to watch the kids without help all day!

My picture-taking skills were sub-par this morning, and I didn’t really get any good ones of the girls looking at the camera with their backpacks.  Hilary snapped this one with “Grandma Marfa” (that is, Martha) when they dropped them off at school.  They still aren’t looking at the camera, but you get the idea they are at school, right?

They had a blast.  I didn’t intend to send either of them this year, but I hope it will be a blessing for them, and I will surely be able to use the rest.

I had hoped to go with them to drop off, but was too weak by the time my mom and I got them dressed; probably for the best so we could avoid my meltdown!

***************************************************

My appointment tomorrow is with the surgeon and is a follow-up to the little surgery I had last week, the sentinel node biopsy.  You may recall that I also had a needle biopsy of the original tumor and then an axilla node biopsy a few weeks ago, but this is the final test result we have been waiting on to determine what stage the cancer is.  At this point, a negative or positive result won’t impact my treatment as far as chemo/radiation goes, but it will affect the surgery I have down the road, and whether or not they will need to remove more lymph nodes.  As usual, I’m praying for negative nodes!!

*****************************************************

What else…we had a very nice visit with Chris and Jenni tonight.   They are such thoughtful friends and they came bearing food and gifts.  As an added bonus, they got here just in time to help Brandon give all the kids a bath!  Thank yall for everything.

Brandon and I continue to be amazed by the thoughtfulness and generosity of everyone.  We are so grateful and hopefully we are learning how to be of better service to others in need.  What good examples we have in all of you!

I want to post more about it (and a zillion other things), but really and truly, THANK YOU for all the cards, messages, comments, prayers, phone calls, visits, meals, gifts… EVERYTHING.

******************************************************

Well, enough for tonight…but before I go here are a few more pics from this morning since the videos didn’t work.  Hopefully I’ll feel up to blogging more tomorrow or Saturday when we’re all rained in from Irene!


I love that I got one of the girls hugging here.  Cadence doesn’t really give spontaneous hugs to Ella during the day, but she will throw one out there for the camera every now and again.

And then a little collage, because of course I can’t leave Wade out.  I still can’t pick up the kids, but I sure do love it when Wade comes to my feet and begs me to. 🙂  He is growing so fast.  He has advanced from army crawl, to full-fledged crawl in the last day or so, and he is just such a sweetheart.

Goodnight!

p.s. My hair is hanging on for now.  Not sure how many more days I’ll be able to say that, so wanted to go ahead and throw it out there. 🙂

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you;  I will uphold you with my righteous hand. 

Isaiah 41:10

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to One Week

  1. Denise Ingram says:

    What sweet girls! I love the one of them hugging! And Wade looks pretty happy too! So glad you are feeling better. Hang in there and know I am praying daily for you! Love you guys so much!

  2. Julie says:

    Praying that today you get negative news, which will really be positive news!! Such sweet babies, I love the girls hugging and Wade’s sweet smile.

  3. Katie Lou says:

    They are too cute! Glad school is going well! COntinued prayers for strenght for you Momma!

  4. Love the pictures candace….and yay for a couple of good days…….everyday you will get stronger….hang in there girl ….thinking and praying for you everyday!!!!!!

  5. candace…..i’m so glad you are having some good days!!!!!! praying that all news is good news today!!!!!!! gorgeous pics of the kids……the girls are just precious!! and i’m sure they will both love school!!! and wade is such a ham…..look at that adorable bundle of boy!!!!!!!

  6. Such precious children, take care and thanks for all the news.

  7. Laurie says:

    Candace, you and God together are truly amazing. Missed time with your little ones now is hard, but God is a good God and will give you back even more precious moments with them than you can ever imagine. So don’t you fret, “O give thanks to the LORD; for he is good: because his mercy endures for ever”. Psalm 118:1 And as you praise him, even through these hard days it will release him to do far greater things in you and for you….and we praise you LORD for you love and mercy that falls over Candace and her family everyday. Praise you LORD and Thank you LORD…amen.

  8. Lisa McElroy says:

    Such beautiful babies! They are so cute! Thanks for the update. We are keeping you in our thoughts and prayers always.

  9. Teresa Ammons says:

    Glad your feeling better. I loved the pictures, they grow real fast.

  10. Heather says:

    Three of the best reasons to keep your great spirit and attitude about this challenge! Your strength and grace is beautiful. xxxx

  11. Wendy Cole says:

    I saw Brandon and the girls at the grocery store this week. Cadence told me about going to school. I know they will both love it!
    Continuing to pray for you….keep that positive attitude!

Leave a Reply

