One More Birthday Post!

Yet another post that I wrote a couple days ago and didn’t post…

As I was looking through the pictures on my memory card I realized I forgot to tell yall about my surprise birthday party that was one week ago!

Back in April I thought it would be fun to have Brandon a surprise party for his 30th birthday and I guess he thought it would be a good idea to return the favor.  TOTALLY, unnecessary on his part!!  Thankfully, he knows me well and just invited my family…we eat every Thursday night with his parents and sister’s family anyway, and last week all of my family came over, too!  This was the night before my last treatment.

Definitely a surprise to roll up with my shiny head and see all MY family on the in-law’s deck! 🙂

This was right after I shaved my head, and I had intended to wear a ball cap, but then they were all staring when we pulled into the driveway before I had a chance to put it on and saw me without it anyway, so whatever…bald I was!

As we were walking out the door Cadence told me SHE needed her hat, too.  She is so sweet.  I know this is blurry, but the only one I have of her in her hat…too cute not to share!  All the nieces and nephews had not seen me without hair, so I was trying to approach them slowly. They were completely un-phased!

Some of my family:

Don’t I have a wonderful support system?

Well anyway, then on my actual birthday I’m told we celebrated my birthday again, but I really don’t remember much (in spite of the fact that I look well-aware in this picture).  Cadence and Ella helped make/decorate the cake:


Hmm, on second thought – that is a chemo-glaze on my face, and I have clearly just sat up from a little nap on the couch!

Anyway, just wanted to share pictures of my baldness. 🙂  I actually still have a lot of stubble…I’m thinking that here in a few days I’ll lose a lot of that, if it follows the same pattern as after my first treatment.

My hair was super thick…not sure how many treatments it will take to completely get it all!

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One More Birthday Post!

  1. jennifer laudate spivey says:

    Candace,
    You look so beautiful; I can see why your nieces and nephews didn’t skip a beat. I think about you and pray for you often. If I’m correct, this should be your weekend off so I hope you enjoy your fog-free weekend!

  2. candace, bald is beautiful!!!!!!!! you are just the cutest chemo pt ever!!!!!!! and cadence in the hat……absolutely adorable!!!!!! ❤ ya and your always in my thoughts xoxoxoxo

  3. Phyllis Dixon says:

    You are beautiful!!! You have a Glow(and not a Chemo glow) that only you Faith in GOD can supply!! You are so courageous and such a blessing to me to read your Blog! May GOD Bless you and your family

  4. Petra Cole says:

    I second Phyllis Dixon’s post! You are a beautiful instrument of God’s as you continue in your faith and write this blog. May God’s blessings be upon you and your family. May He continue to use this blog to encourage others to strengthen their walk with Him. Love your joy and courage as you are amidst the storm. Remember this life is but a vapor. With Eternity in mind we can face and weather any storm! I love you.(((Big strong Hugs)))

Leave a Reply

