How Can I Say Thanks?

I hope you all know how much I have appreciated every single prayer, fast, phone call, card, visit, meal, message and gift that I have received.

I have hesitated to say thank you on the blog for specific items because I definitely don’t want to leave anything or anybody out,  but there are some things that I just have to say thank you for!

Prayers and Fasting

My sister set up an online calendar for those of you who were willing to help me fight this battle spiritually as well as physically.  I have been told by some of you that you have prayed and fasted but didn’t sign up on the calendar.  Thank you for that.  Some of you thought it was just for local church friends to sign up for, but it is for ANY of you that would like to sign up!

http://www.carecalendar.org/v2/calendar.php

User Name: 82578    |    Password:  candace (all lowercase)

Whether or not you fast or sign up at all, this is what I love to hear from you:

“I’ll be on my knees asking for your strength, faith, and spirit. When you feel those guardian angels, thank our Heavenly Father, for He loves to hear from His believers as we pray for those we love. You are definitely on my ‘People I Love’ list.” 

Dr. J, I hope it is okay that I quoted your message to me here.  Your prayer touched me, the fact that I’m on your list of “people you love” touched me, and finally HE TOUCHED ME, and now I can thank Him for mercy during this treatment!!!  Thank you for your prayers.

Bottom line:  I covet ALL of your prayers, and they mean more to me than any tangible thing that I could post on my blog here.

********************************************************

Prayer Shawls

Don’t ask me how I’ve never heard of these before, but now I have FIVE of them and I think they are the best things ever!

Within a week of my diagnosis I received my first prayer shawl with this prayer attached:

We have gathered in the presence of our Lord.  This shawl has been passed through our praying hands and been blessed by our loving hearts.  May you be cradled in hope, kept in joy, graced with peace, and wrapped in love.  Amen.

 

 

So I realize that it may seem excessive that I have five of them, but for now I am keeping them and treasuring them…I have them placed throughout the house in my resting chairs, in the kids’ rooms, and one in the car…much needed for the rides to and from treatment, as that has tended to be a high-anxiety time for me.

Three of these shawls came from church groups near and dear to my heart, and rumor has it that one of them was prayed over by the the 8:30am service/11:00am service/and my Sunday School class…what a blessing to know that I am not fighting this battle alone.  Thank you, Peggy, for coordinating that.

Two of the other shawls were made by individual women, and I’d like you to pray for both of them tonight.

Mrs. Norma made one of them and she fell in the grocery store last week and broke her hip.  She sent me the nicest letter with the afghan she made, along with several hats.  Not only does she make prayer shawls, but she makes cute hats for the cancer patients at UNC Chapel Hill in her spare time.  I was so privileged to receive a few of those hats!  Please say a special prayer for her healing.

A good friend made the last one – in true Candace fashion – PINK!   She and her husband have been a constant encouragement to Brandon and I with their visits, thoughtful gifts, freezer meals and positive encouragement.  Would you pray that God give this couple the desire of their hearts as they seek to serve Him?

***********************************************************

I have a few other “thank you’s” that I’d like to throw out there, but they will have to wait until tomorrow.  I think it is past my bedtime right now!

Goodnight!

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How Can I Say Thanks?

  1. Petra Cole says:

    Continuing to lift you up in prayer Candace! I love you sister!

  2. todd tessman says:

    Candace,
    We Love and continue to pray for you!! I love keeping up on the blog because it brings me back to last year. Not that any of it was fun but the sheer magnitude of the Lord’s Glory,Grace, and Mercy was beyond words! I pray that you feel the same thing I did! Just wanted to share one of the many passages that gave me inspiration.
    1 Praise the LORD, my soul;
    all my inmost being, praise his holy name.
    2 Praise the LORD, my soul,
    and forget not all his benefits—
    3 who forgives all your sins
    and heals all your diseases,
    4 who redeems your life from the pit
    and crowns you with love and compassion,
    5 who satisfies your desires with good things
    so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.
    Psalm 103:1-5

  3. Phyllis Dixon says:

    Candace,I should be thanking you. Your Faith and smile through all of this has been a Great blessing to me! You are an awesome lady! You can be so sick from the treatments,but you STILL praise GOD in all you do!!! You are my Inspiration!! I pray you have comfort and strength during this trying time…May God Bless you !!
    Phyllis D.

Leave a Reply

