Fun Stuff

A few light-hearted “thank yous” while I can’t sleep…

In no particular order, I am thankful for:

  • Not having had to do laundry in about 8 weeks…don’t be jealous 😉
  • Grandparents that will push their grandkids on the swing to their heart’s content
  • Spur of the moment Chinese food (homemade!)
  • Dave Ramsey discipline in action
  • Fun hairbows in the mail for my girls

Gobble, Gobble! Thanks, Ashley G.! Hope it is okay for me to post this picture of your precious bows here!

  • Salt n Vinegar potato chips
  • Cuddling my babies in my lap
  • Meals for my family when I am unable to provide
  • Clean sheets on my bed any time I am out of it long enough for them to be changed
  • A sister and SILs that go above and beyond to take care of me and the kids
  • Green jello wedding shower punch, just because I thought it would taste good 🙂
  • Squealing cousins, stealing Dora/Olivia/Minnie, chasing each other in circles
  • Crayon rolls for the kids – even one for Wade

    One for each of the kids...thanks, Peggy!

  • The love, prayers, and support of my amazing family and friends
  • An afternoon visit with Grandma, complete with piano and singing
  • Encouragement from others who have walked this path before me
  • A new wig stand for my hair!  Didn’t even know I needed it…

Thanks, Aunt Susie! Do you think Aunt Warna Lou would be happy with where her can ended up?! I am happy for her Quaker Oats can to serve as my new wig stand...much better than the way I was storing it!

  • The lawn service (aka, “Pa”) that shows up and keeps our yard in shape…don’t mind the bushes…I don’t like Brandon to cut them back until my snowball bush has finished blooming 🙂
  • Those who rock my babies to sleep when I can’t
  • Shared devotionals
  • A fun grocery delivery for the kids, complete with Mickey shaped cheese and princess plates and cups…only another mom of a three year old would get that one right!!!
  • Emailed videos of MY little princess at gymnastics (so precious to me)
  • Preschool teachers and providers … thank you
  • Lunch time visits with cousins…good food, good fellowship, good fun!
  • Blog comments from those I love and those I have never met…thank you

*Disclaimer 1:  This is not a comprehensive list.  I have chemo brain.  If you don’t believe me, ask my husband or some of my close friends. These are just the things I have thought of sitting here at 12:54am on Tuesday night and am coherent enough to write down.  I’m sure there are 50 other things I could add to the list in the morning.  And I might. 🙂

*Disclaimer 2:  I am not trying to get out of writing and mailing you a handwritten thank you card by mentioning you on the blog…I just need to find my ink pen 😉

*Disclaimer 3:  I didn’t mention how thankful I am for my husband here, because that’s a given.  ❤

*Disclaimer 4:  I also didn’t mention again how thankful I am for all of your prayers and cards, because that is also a given.

*Disclaimer 5:  I can’t close this post without posting three of the things I’m most thankful for:

Isn't she beautiful!

Sweet Ella...love her boots!

An oldie, but one of my favorites from Portrait Innov. ... Wade stuck out his tongue in almost every single picture that day!

It is a good thing I transferred 56GB of pictures onto my external hard drive last night or I may have never decided on which pictures to share!!

Goodnight, friends 🙂

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fun Stuff

  1. jennifer laudate spivey says:

    I’m thankful for this post. I’m thinking about ya’ll and praying for you.

  2. Thanks for sharing, you are truly a special person!!

  3. Lynn Lawing says:

    Candace this is such a delightful post. You continue to amaze me with your faithfulness, determination, humor, love and thankfulness through your writings. I continue to pray daily for you and your family. I have no idea what you are going through but I do know that you have a dynamic support group in many ways. Take care and keep posting (when you feel like it).
    P.S. Once again I have to say that you have such DARLING children!

  4. Brooke L. Brooks says:

    Thank you for being such an inspiration to others!

  5. Kristin Allen says:

    This blog does wonderful things for my heart! Thank you so much for sharing your life with us!

  6. i am thankful for your insight, your comments, kind words, even when your world is rocked upside down!!!! you, my friend, are the inspiration!!!!!! chemo brain or not, you’ve got your ducks in a row…..those 3 little sweeties are what life is all about….most precious gifts of all !!!! i am thankful you cleaned out your computer and posted those 3 gorgeous pics 😉 !!!!!!

  7. Kandace says:

    Candace, you truly are inspiring. I KNOW what you are going through… and you are so postive and spiritual. I wish I could have been more like that at the time. Your children are beautiful! Keep being grateful for the things you have, sounds like a wonderful support system, that really makes so much difference! I am thinking about you and praying for you. Please let me know if I can do anything for you!

    Kandace (fellow survivor)

  8. Brandi says:

    And I am thankful for you and your amazing spirit and the strength that you have that I know comes from the Lord, also for the way you praise him through all of this. You are such an amazing woman!

  9. Emily C says:

    Your positive outlook always amazes me. You are such a wonderful woman, Candace!

  10. Jelena says:

    I am always uplifted reading your blogs. Seems odd, but true. You are so amazing.

  11. Krista says:

    Psalm 50:15 “And call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver thee, and thou shalt glorify me.”
    This was our “theme verse” from our 2010 Zion Relay for Life team. We started the team when the daughter of a breast cancer survivor wanted to honor her mother….”Laps for Lefty!” was our motto, can you guess which breast had the cancer???
    I would have sent more gymnastics footage this week, but my darling daughter was NOT waiting worth a flip, and me yelling her full name across the gym every 2 minutes would have ruined the footage anyway!
    I hope that you are enjoying your weekend, as always, my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. Again, what BEAUTIFUL, PRECIOUS pictures!

Leave a Reply

