Thirsty!

It has been a few days since I have updated the blog.  What started out as a really promising few days following my last treatment turned into a week of feeling pretty lousy.  I just have not been able to “get over the hump,” so to speak!

At some point late Saturday afternoon, I realized the only thing I’d had to drink all day was a few sips of water to take medicine with, and likewise, I had not had very many fluids Thursday and Friday either.  Not good!!

I have continually had trouble finding something to drink that I could stomach.   I have tried everything from water to tea to Sprite to Gatorade to slushies to Mocha Frappes to grape juice to orange juice and even to the aforementioned green wedding punch!!!

Everything tastes very, very bitter to me and/or makes me nauseated.  Honestly, makes me feel kind of sick to write them out right now!  Orange juice has been my staple, but this week I’ve even struggled with keeping it down.

Late yesterday afternoon, when I realized I was parched, I FINALLY was able to drink a decent quantity of water and not feel very sick doing so.  Last night as I was in bed, unable to sleep, as usual, it crossed my mind to ask my blog readers to specifically pray for this for me.

For those looking for specific prayer request, would you pray that I can drink enough to stay hydrated and flush this chemo out of my body!!  I know from past experience how weak I am when I get dehydrated and I’d like to not add that ailment to the other chemo inflicted ones.

So anyway, as I was thinking about how thirsty I am, my mind started wandering and I recalled that my medical oncologist told me before my first treatment about the importance of flushing these chemotherapy drugs out of my body as best I could.  She proceeded to tell me that the primary drug that is being administered to me has been nicknamed “the red devil,” as it wreaks havoc on the body and turns urine and even tears RED when it is in your system.  I don’t even like the the THOUGHT of having the devil in me, but I know that Satan is constantly at work, and I have noticed what seems like an unusual amount of spiritual warfare surrounding myself and my family lately.

It occurred to me that just as I have not thirsted enough for liquids to quench my physical thirst, I have not thirsted adequately for God’s scripture, for His word in my heart.  I’m kind of dehydrated in that way these days, too.

I have always heard of people “battling” cancer…makes a little more sense now!

I will have to put on my gear tomorrow:

10 Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. 11 Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. 12 For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, [fn3] against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. 13 Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.                       — Ephesians 6:10-13

Warrior Girl - Etsy Image

 

Thank you for your continued prayers and fasting.  I appreciate them so much.  I’ll be back tomorrow to let you know how my weekend went, and possibly to share a REALLY BIG answered prayer that I’ve been saving to write about when I feel good! 🙂

6 ​​Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, ​​For they shall be filled.        — Matthew 5:6

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thirsty!

  1. O, Candace! You are a WARRIOR PRINCESS! Your Uncle Eugene and I put on our spiritual armor (clothing and weapons) everyday. It does make a difference; we may not “feel” it but it is real! God is faithful…………..Hope to see you soon…………..Love you!

  2. Joni says:

    Praying for you, Candace!

  3. Ruth says:

    LOVE that picture!! I’ll be praying specifically that today you’ll feel thirsty and that you’ll find something that quenches your thirst and makes you feel better. Among all the things you’ve tried, have you tried the OJ from McDonalds? I know lots of people swear by it… personally, I really can’t stomach it, but maybe when nothing else seems to help, it will??

    And if you find yourself with nothing to do (haha) or battling insomnia, go here: http://sermons2.redeemer.com/sermons/personal-prayer It’s not very long, but I’ve listened several times (including just yesterday) and found it extremely helpful. And Keller is also a wonderful sleep aid. 😉

  4. Leslie Cranston says:

    I can’t even tell you enough how much your blog means to me. You are the one receiving treatment but you are the one who is an inspiration and Godly example to all of us who are praying for you! I am so BLESSED each time i read one of your posts, even though you feel so weak, you are sooooo strong and I know that that is the Lord working in and through you, cause His strength is perfected in our weaknesses 🙂 I am lifting you up and my mom and dad’s church back home in Va. are praying for you too. I talk to my mom everyday and I share with her the things you post on your blog, just know that there are brothers and sisters all over that are praying for you! Your family means so much to me and I’ve got on my Armor today too to help in this battle, but just remember, in the end we KNOW who WINS!!!!! Praise His Name!

  5. hugs and prayers for you candace!!!!! have you tried those flavoring packets for water……you probably have tried or thought of everything and as much as things don’t sound appetizing or what ever you really should try to force your self so to speak to drink something…..in the long run it may actually help you feel better!!! thinking about you girl

  6. thinking and praying!!!! ❤

  7. Thinking of you always Candace. I’m not sure if you’ve tried this or if I missed it in other responses, but what about coke? I’ve heard the hospitals use it for chemo patients and it’s supposed to battle nausea. I think flat Coke is what’s supposed to help. (((Hugs)))

  8. Kristin Allen says:

    Have you tried just snacking on ice? I’ve got access to the really good (soft) crunchy kind if you want me to bring you some!!! Thinking about you and praying for you!!!

  9. You are definitely an inspiration to all who know you……Love and prayers from the Cole family!

  10. todd tessman says:

    Candace,
    I had the same medicine and I reacted the same way, it is no fun. There were times when all I wanted was lemon Italian ice. It does not do much for thirst but it did, for a short while, take that terrible feeling out of my mouth (like you are talking about) and did taste “normal” I am sure you know all about “normal” it is relative! I think the acid in the lemon is what cleansed my mouth so if you like lemonade that may help? Oh, and I had to give up anything with artificial sweetener, that taste bitter!!! Real sugar was OK. Also, the thing that tasted the best were milk shakes, crazy but it was the ONLY thing that tasted good most of the time. Praying hard for you because yes, it is a spiritual battle, Satan attacks 3 places, the mind, the will and the body. So yes, you are in battle because Satan is attacking the body, it was a constant battle to keep him out of the mind too, Prayer is the answer for that as I am sure you know!
    Here is a Psalm that helped me through the battle..We Love you!!!

    Psalm 27:1-6
    Of David.

    1 The LORD is my light and my salvation—
    whom shall I fear?
    The LORD is the stronghold of my life—
    of whom shall I be afraid?

    2 When the wicked advance against me
    to devour[a] me,
    it is my enemies and my foes
    who will stumble and fall.
    3 Though an army besiege me,
    my heart will not fear;
    though war break out against me,
    even then I will be confident.

    4 One thing I ask from the LORD,
    this only do I seek:
    that I may dwell in the house of the LORD
    all the days of my life,
    to gaze on the beauty of the LORD
    and to seek him in his temple.
    5 For in the day of trouble
    he will keep me safe in his dwelling;
    he will hide me in the shelter of his sacred tent
    and set me high upon a rock.

    6 Then my head will be exalted
    above the enemies who surround me;
    at his sacred tent I will sacrifice with shouts of joy;
    I will sing and make music to the LORD.

  11. Krista says:

    I am praying that you will find a beverage that is easier to get down! This year’s Relay for Life theme was Fighting against cancer and our theme verse for our Zion team was Ephesians 6:11! As always you and your family are in our thoughts and prayers.

  12. Laurie says:

    You are so blessed and your children are beautifully made.. I will pray that God will provide the right combination.of hydration for you. After all God made us 70% water (isn’t that cool) and He knows exactly what you need NOW. I remember taking a medicine that left a metallic taste in my mouth the full treatment and she told me to place a piece of chocolate in my mouth, each time I had to take a dose, to combat the taste, I wonder if chocolate would help you, choco milk, choco milkshakes, etc..just a thought. Much love and lots of prayers extended to you & family.

Leave a Reply

