Burning the Midnight Oil

As usual, it is late as I begin to blog!

It is just after midnight, but Cadence has already woken up and “sneaked into” mommy and daddy’s bed – I heard her bedroom door open and the little pitter patter of her feet as she ran to our room…I didn’t have the heart to tell her to get back into her bed.

My Aunt Terri stayed over here today, somehow Cadence persuaded her that she needed to take her nap “with mommy” — instead of in HER bed in HER room!  Stinker.  I love every minute of it.

This picture is from Monday…it doesn’t even really look like Cadence, all snuggled up beside me…

She looks so young here – still has a babyish look to her face that is disappearing more and more every day.  I can’t believe how fast the kids are growing.  Wade will be one in less than 20 days…last year at this time he wasn’t even born yet.  Amazing.

***************************************************

Tomorrow we have a family reunion.  I am so excited to go and see all my aunts and uncles and great aunts and uncles!!!

I’m hoping my taste buds behave and I can taste some of good food that is sure to be there!

*****************************************************

I had promised to write about our weekend before my last treatment (so two weekends ago) and never got around to it – well, before my sickness, Brandon would take Cadence out “yard sale-ing” and occasionally to breakfast on Saturday mornings.  Ella and Wade usually slept quite a bit later than that, so it allowed me to sleep in a little bit.  After he scoped out the good sales he’d come back and wake me up so I could hurry over and find the deals!

Anyway, two weeks ago as Cadence was getting ready to go she determined that it would be a good day for Ella to join them! 🙂

Thursday before preschool...not the other Saturday!

I am proud to say that Ella did go and behaved perfectly!  Afterwards, Brandon called to tell me about a yard sale I might want to check out – I told him I didn’t really feel up to it…but no worries…not only had he scoped it out, he had already made a purchase!!!  HIGHLY unusual for him to actually buy anything at a yard sale…I was anxious to see what he had found.  I wish I had pictures, but for $3 total, he found a pink Colombia fleece jacket, a green polka dotted pullover, a zip up jacket and a pair of Crocs just in the right sizes for Cadence and Ella.  I was so impressed!

I love that he makes special daddy-daughter time for his little girls and that he can get excited about a good deal on some clothes and shoes…although clearly he would not have bought the Crocs if he had realized how many shoes they already had in their closet. 😉

********************************************************

Speaking of those shoes – I knew your moms of girls would like those pics!!  I am at a loss…they are currently all boxed up again, after multiple (failed) attempts to try them all on the girls.  Ella wears a size 6 at 2 years old, and Cadence wore a 6 when she was just over 1 … so I have alllllllllllll those shoes between size 6-10 that don’t fit Ella yet.  I’m trying to decide if I should just keep them until she grows into them, or get rid of all of the clutter and buy her shoes as her feet grow.

I had started trying to take pictures of all the shoes to list on ebay, but quickly ran out of steam.  This treatment has been similar to treatment number three…not great.  I guess after four treatments, the chemo has just taken a toll on my body.

This morning I was almost the sickest I’ve been yet, but after a day in the bed, I am feeling a little better.  Guess I’ll head to bed now and pray that I feel well enough tomorrow for the reunion!  I think Brandon plans to hit up the yard sales again in the morning…can’t wait to see what he finds! 🙂

Prayer Request:  I continue to struggle with fluid intake.  Pray that I will be able to drink more.

Goodnight!

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Burning the Midnight Oil

  1. Kathy Comer says:

    Candace I am continuing to pray for you. Hope your fluid intake will improve. Love to you all. Kathy

  2. Phyllis Dixon says:

    Praying Candace! You are a REMARKABLE woman!! As sick as the treatments make you,you still take the time to Blog. I get so much from your words! You are a Woman of GOD and you can tell it by your words and by the people that love you! Praying you will be able to take in lots of fluids and your nausea will be gone…Phyllis Dixon

  3. Jennifer Lane Phillips says:

    Candace, I think about you all the time and keep you in my prayers daily… Your faith is healing not only for you and this fight you are pushing through, but for all of us who are reading your words! You are such an inspirational woman! Stay strong and know we are all fighting with you, even those who are far away. Love you!

Leave a Reply

