Greatly Blessed

I know I am such a fuddy-duddy, but I LOVE LOVE LOVE listening to the Gaither Homecoming Series and I was so happy to sit here and watch it for a while tonight!

It makes my heart happy and literally brings a smile to my face to hear the familiar songs.  And I like the corny old jokes.  I think Mark Lowry is funny.  Sometimes I do get a little bit jealous when I hear Sonya Isaacs sing though.  What a beautiful voice! 🙂

I know I mentioned in one of my very first posts about music and the role it has played in my life and in my spiritual development…I was reminded of that today at the family reunion and in true fashion, He Jesus Knows Just What I Need…how refreshing to see first-hand the legacy of love, faith, integrity, perseverance, gratitude, joy and song that my Great Grandma and Grandpa Motsinger left to their children and that they in turn, have passed down through the generations (more on that tomorrow).

So anyway, back to the the Gaithers – a lot of times there are old reruns on, but tonight was an episode I hadn’t seen and they were singing a new little chorus:

Greatly blessed, Highly favored / Imperfect, but forgiven Child of God  ~Gatlin/Gaither

On the tv program they didn’t sing the verse part that goes with it, but when I watched it just now on YouTube the verse lyrics really spoke to me – don’t you love it when God reveals little tidbits to you to let you know everything is gonna be alright?

Here are the verse lyrics:

Standing upright on God’s good earth, count my blessings, great things He has done/ Fighting the good fight with the blessed assurance, that the battle is already won!!!

Well, the exclamation points are mine, but isn’t that exciting to know?!  Read the verse again…the battle is already won!!

Ephesians 6:12  (KJV)

12For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

I will go to sleep with a song in my heart again tonight.  And a lot of songs in my head, too, but I’ll spare you for now. 😉

That’s all for tonight…here’s just a quick sneak picture of one of a gazillion pictures I have to share tomorrow!

Goodnight!

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

