Family Reunion

I promised this post tonight, so here goes!  And it is before midnight!  I am going to try very very hard to be in my bed asleep by midnight tonight.  If I get 7 uninterrupted hours tonight, I am hoping to feel like a new person tomorrow!

Our Family Reunion:

For many years Grandma and PaPa hosted the reunion at their home, but more recently, we have been meeting at Uncle Wade’s.  He and Maxine have a beautiful home and it is a great place for all of us to get together!

That is Uncle Wade in the center of the collage below, holding Ella.  The girls thought it was neat that their Grandma has a brother named Wade, like they have a brother named Wade!

I intended to get a picture of Wade & Wade together, but somehow I got busy eating and talking (my two favorite things 😉 ) and it slipped my mind before we left.

This collage shows the aunts and uncles seated together on the bottom right…not a very clear photo though, sorry!  Uncle Eugene is there on the bottom left.   He and Aunt Lavon and our cousin Mike came up from Georgia.  Patsy and my mom are there in the upper right… Sherry, we missed you, but heard you were being treated to a good time in Miami!

So anyway, my Grandma Mildred is one of 8 children:  Ray, Fuller, Doris, Eugene, Wade, Mildred, Violet and Spencer.  Six of those eight are still living and five of them were at the reunion yesterday, all with their spouses, except of course grandma, as PaPa Homer passed away about 10 years ago (one day I will tell you about him, too).  We missed Uncle Spencer who couldn’t make the trip up from Florida this year.

Uncle Eugene prayed the best prayer for us, and I was so happy to hug Aunt Lavon … her blog comments are always welcome and I know I am prayed for daily by them.

I didn’t have any pictures of Uncle Fuller and Aunt Barbara, but it was so good to see them and talk to Barbara, who is herself, a breast cancer survivor!  I guess I missed a lot of photo ops because I didn’t have any pictures of Aunt Violet and Uncle Pat, of Grandma either, or really of anybody else either, for that matter!

Except for Naaman – Lydia did pick up my camera and snap these pictures of him:

He is so cute.

It was about this time last year that he got home from several weeks in the hospital after being admitted for an unknown illness at 4 months old.  Test after test was inconclusive, there was no fever, but Naaman was essentially paralyzed.  He couldn’t eat or drink, and couldn’t even cry.  It turned out to be Infant Botulism from an unknown source.

Turns out that Infant Botulism is really rare, and it is really, really, really rare in North Carolina.  He stumped the doctors and gave all of us a scare, but God proved faithful in healing him.

Anyway, he was loving the cupcake!

He also loved playing outside on the steps with the girls…there is no doubt in my mind that Wade will love to join them next year:

If you look closely you will also see my Uncle Todd pictured in the top right here.  He battled lymphoma last year around the time, but just this week got a clean bill of health from his doctors at Duke.  GOD IS GOD – ALL THE TIME!  I appreciate the support he and Aunt Kathy have given me during my recent trials.  I know the memories of diagnosis, treatment, sickness, recovery, etc, are probably still uncomfortably close, which makes their love and compassion even more meaningful.

One more collage, to show you why there aren’t more pictures – because when I’m behind the camera somebody else has to watch/help my kids!!!

Yesterday’s lucky recipient of that job was Luke – or Uncle Luke as my girls call him:

Luke is a very good helper, and it is a good thing he’s getting a lot of practice since he and Whitney will be having a little boy around Christmas time!

I didn’t feel good yesterday morning, but I’m so glad I made the effort to go to the reunion.  It wore me out real good, but it was worth it!

The only thing missing was some singing around the piano.  What I wouldn’t give to have a recording of Grandma and Aunt Violet singing in their trio days!!!

It was a great day.  Can’t wait to do it again next year!

I’m so glad I’m a part of the family of God!  I’ve been washed by the fountain, cleansed by the lamb.  Joint heirs with Jesus, as we travel this throng.  I’m a part, of the family, the family of God! –Lanny Wolfe

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Family Reunion

  1. It was so good to see you and your familly! Little correction on Michael Motsinger. lol He is our youngest son and your cousin! Eugene (Ralph to me and our family) thought it was the best Family Reunion ever! Fuller and Barbara stayed until 5 p.m. What a wonderful day! We quietly slipped away from Wade and Maxine’s house around 5:3O & got home around 1 p.m. I guess everyone must have been in church as there was hardly any traffic. We send our love and prayers and look forward to NEXT year!

  2. Krista says:

    I am so glad you were able to make it to your reunion! We missed gymnastics for a doc. app. this a.m., so that’s why there aren’t Flip videos for this week. I hope that if you are not already in bed you will head that way shortly and get a rest. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers daily.

Leave a Reply

