Here’s to a good weekend!

Guess what?  My chemo was postponed.  Everything is fine and my blood counts were all A-okay, praise the Lord.  Turns out that they don’t administer new chemo drugs to patients late in the afternoon…especially when a big side effect is allergy.

I am disappointed because THEY set our schedule and we were there on time.  My husband took the day off work to go with me and we spent all afternoon at the hospital, and my mom took the day off work to watch the kids….and now we have to do it all over again on Monday morning.  Except we’ll get there at 8:00 am!  And I won’t have to have the blood draws/meet with the nurse/meet with the oncologist…all things that took a little longer than anticipated yesterday, throwing us off track for our scheduled chemo time.

At any rate, I am thrilled to have a good weekend here at home…should be my best weekend since the end of July when all my biopsies started!  I can lift the kids and I pretty much feel like the chemo is out of my body from 2 weeks ago (not sure if it really is all gone, but I still feel better than I have in weeks).  I know I am much weaker and will tire more easily, but I plan to take full advantage of feeling good!

I’m most upset about having to be slammed with the heavy steroid dose again.  I barely slept at all Thursday  night, had more steroids Friday morning, and after the emotional roller coaster of thinking I was having chemo and then NOT having chemo, I crashed and burned almost as soon as we got home last night…got a good, solid eight hours of sleep in!   I am so thankful for that.  I remember getting in the bed thinking I was kind of cold, and waking up all warm and cozy this morning.  Love this time of year!

I better get busy…so much to do.  I think I wrote in my last post about my little non-important to-do list, and how I was sure they would get done…I think God gave me today for that!  Clothes to sort, decorations to set out, pictures to take, cuddle my kids, plan Wade a little birthday party…

Speaking of that – as we drove to Durham yesterday I was reminded again that Wade hadn’t been born at this time last year.  The drive is so familiar, as I made it twice a week for the last 8 weeks through all my pregnancies.  Beautiful to drive by the lake and see the leaves changing colors.  Love it on a bright sunny day like yesterday.

It still blows me away that so much has happened in a year, but trusting in God’s infinite wisdom…

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future…”

I’ll leave you with a collage of my nephew, Naaman, from his first birthday shoot…a little inspiration for today’s pictures with Wade, hopefully!

Have a great weekend!  I’m gonna get started on my to-do list while Brandon has the girls out yard-saling! 🙂

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Here’s to a good weekend!

  1. jennifer laudate spivey says:

    Candace, so glad you get to enjoy your weekend! What a great one to have “off!”
    Also think it’s hilarious that brandon takes the kids yard-saling. I remember doing the same with my mom when I was young, and to this day we all yell out “yard-sale” if we drive by a sign for one!

  2. Kandace Poindexter says:

    Oh Candace! That happened to me TWICE with the Taxol treatments. Very frustrating…. Are you doing 4 taxol treatments, one every other week? If so, did htey tell you it takes about 5 hours? And they will give you benadryl before they start. If you are like me, I slept through most of hte treatment…. adn it gave me horrible restless leg syndrome! (I was told that was from the benadryl)

    I am glad you get to enjoy this beautiful weekend! Sounds like you are doing amazing! Enjoy the weather and fun family stuff this weekend!

    Jeremiah 29:11 is my life verse…. it has gotten me through a lot in the last couple years. Definitely a good reminder for us!
    Kandace

  3. have a fantastic, productive, but restful weekend!!! is that even possible with 3 kids??LOL!!!!!!!! ❤

  4. Emily says:

    Aw, is it mean of me to say I love the picture of him crying. It’s so cute!

Leave a Reply

