Praise Report – BRCA 1 – Part 4

Well, it is getting closer to Thanksgiving now…and I am definitely giving thanks in this post that I’ve been promising for a while.  I finally had the time and energy to get it all down! 

If you’ve been following my blog from the beginning you know that my medical team suspected I had the breast cancer gene mutation from the very beginning, and I was tested for it within a week or so of my diagnosis.  You can read about that here and here.

Not surprisingly, I do have the BRCA1 gene mutation, and I am okay with that, as documented in a previous blog post.

*****************************************

After it was confirmed that I had the mutation, we needed to identify where it came from so we could see if other family members needed to be tested.

My mom was the most logical place to start, given her history of breast cancer, beginning at age 28.  The doctors felt confident that she would also test positive, since I had to have inherited it from one parent or the other.  They decided to go ahead and also test my sister and my aunt, who were the relatives closest to us that would be most likely to develop cancer if they had the gene mutation.

Well guess what, neither my sister nor my aunt have the gene mutation!  Isn’t that great news!!!!  I was so, so, so, soooooo thankful when they got their results!!  My mom was sitting with me the day she was called with her results, and my sister came over shortly after she got her good news, and I can’t tell you how much relief we all felt regarding that!

I am also so very thankful that my aunt doesn’t have the mutation.  I was really praying she didn’t, given that she’s past her 30’s now 😉 and hasn’t developed cancer to this point!  I am also thankful because that means that my cousin Laura can’t have the gene mutation (except on some odd fluke that her father has the gene, but I don’t think there’s any history on his side of the family).  I had been really worried for her, too!

***********************************************

As I said, I was not surprised to learn that I had the mutation and I was not surprised to learn that my mom does, too.  Although she obviously isn’t happy she has the gene, she is happy for an explanation of why she had cancer three times at such a young age!  More on that in a bit.

But because my mom tested positive, my brothers were also tested.  And guess what.  Neither of my brothers have the gene mutation!!!  Isn’t God good?  For those who don’t remember from my first three posts on the gene – a BRCA1 mutation also increases male cancer risks, and obviously they would risk passing it on to any children they may have, so I am so thankful that they don’t have the mutation!

************************************************

Lastly, a male family member did test positive for the gene (we got the good genes 😉 ) – I can imagine that learning you have a “cancer gene” is much more difficult to hear when you don’t already have cancer.  The good news and praise report in this though, is that he can have extra screenings for Pancreatic and other cancers that aren’t readily available to the general population.  Would you 1. pray for peace of mind for him  2. pray that he not develop any cancers (Lord willing) and 3. pray that these early interventions be successful in detecting any cancers if they should arise.

**************************************************

As a final note, my mom will be having a recommended procedure at the end of this week because of her gene mutation.  Would you pray for safety during the surgery and comfort and healing for her following the surgery?  This obviously isn’t coming at a great time, given how much we rely on my parents and Brandon’s parents for help, but we will work through it.  The most important thing is to keep her healthy!!!!

*************************************************

All in all, I am happy with the family’s gene study results to this point.  I am sorry that any of us have it, but am super duper grateful that my sister and aunt DON’T have it!!  Now I’m just praying my kids don’t have it either!!!  If three of my mom’s kids don’t have it, maybe three of mine won’t! 😉

**************************************************

Finally, one last quick update for the day.  I’m at the hospital.  It is almost 9am and we are waiting to get started.  They wait to mix the chemo drugs until the patient is here and ready to get started.  The drugs are too expensive to mix in advance and take the risk of a patient not showing up!

We had a great weekend…got a lot of things accomplished, although there is always more to do…right?

I’m about to go take a 5 hour nap while I get this chemo, so maybe I’ll feel up to it when I get home.  Kidding! 

Have a great day!

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Praise Report – BRCA 1 – Part 4

  1. Cammi says:

    That’s great news Candace. Ill keep your family in my orayers and pray for a speedy recovery for your mom.

  2. Kim Oran says:

    Hey Sweet Girl!!
    Continuing to pray for all of you!!! In all His infinite wisdom, God is good!! The best thing is that He already knows the outcome of everything, and we just have to trust Him!! Take care!!
    Kim

  3. Cindy says:

    I really love the fact that, even in the midst of your own crisis, you continue to think about and pray for others. It’s so hard not to get so wrapped up in our own stuff that we forget others are suffering too. You are such an inspiration, Candace. I will continue to pray for you and your family and ask God to keep you all in the shelter of his wings.

  4. Wonderful news Candace, I hope you’re feeling OK right now (as good as one can feel after chemo). Thinking of you always!

  5. Lisa McElroy says:

    You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers always. Praying for your mom, and praying for you with this new round of chemo. You are a true inspiration to me. Take care!
    Lisa

  6. Jelena says:

    Bless you, girl! So glad to hear that so many of your family were passed over in the cancer gene inheritance. I’ll be praying for your family, particularly your mom. Please give her my love.

  7. I’ve had you on my mind alot lately. Much love and prayers to you and your precious family. Give your mom our love and we will be praying for her this week!

  8. Todd Tessman says:

    Praying and thinking of you all! Wanted to share a song that touched me deeply during the tough times!

    We Love you!!

  9. I can hear His purity and love for others as you write. Bless you everyday! Lavon & Eugene

Leave a Reply

