Wimpy

I know I’m kind of wimpy, but I’d like to think that I have at least a little bit of muscle in my arms from lugging around 1-3 kids for the past three years.  Those car seat carriers are HEAVY!

This chemo leads me to believe otherwise.  My arms get tired scrolling on my iPad…and when I type a few sentences…watch out…I need a nap!  I can’t believe I just typed that, as I know it sounds ridiculous!  Sad but true.  Just another part of my “new normal,” I guess.

Lucky for you, I’ve got some insomnia going on, and lots of random things I want to put down here so I don’t forget!  A few people that have gone through chemo have encouraged me to write down as much as possible so I don’t forget the little (and big things) that happen during this time.  If you’re reading, you have the good fortune to catch up on all those random tidbits with me.

********************************

It has now been 11 full days since my last chemo and I’m not sure I’m going to regain my full strength before Friday (my next treatment).  Overall though, this treatment hasn’t been horrible.  The steroids and other meds helped tremendously with the pain.  I honestly don’t know how I would have handled another treatment like my first Taxol.  It was awful.  The one thing the meds haven’t helped with is the muscle weakness.  I have a hard time just getting around the house sometimes, much less anywhere else.

I am just praying that the weakness is temporary!  I pick Wade up as much as possible, you know, to make sure I keep some muscle tone.  It has nothing at all to do with the fact that he is just the sweetest baby ever.  He loves to cuddle and I don’t think there is anything sweeter than him cuddling up to me and laying his head down on my shoulder.  I’ll be so sad when he outgrows that!

****************************

Speaking of Wade, I never posted his birthday party pictures and I never posted Halloween pictures.  I’m still working through computer issues, but I’ll be posting those someday soon so I have those events recorded here on the blog!  We had the cutest little Mickey, Minnie, and Donald Duck that you have ever seen!

*****************************

One day last week my cousin Laura brought her girls over and stayed with me and took care of the kids.  When she left Cadence told me, “Laura needs to shave her head like yours, mommy!”  I was worried that she took it too literally  when I told her that little girls didn’t shave their heads, mommies did.   [I  had told her that after she observed Brandon shaving my head and she became worried he was going to cut HER hair like that.]

So anyway, tonight I was sitting in the girls’ room before they went to sleep and Cadence informed me that she wanted to get her hair cut like mine.  I told her no, little girls didn’t get their hair cut like that and she said, “Maybe one day when I’m big like you, mommy…”  I told her I hoped she would never have to get her hair cut like mine.

Oh, how I pray she never have to endure this.  But if she does, she will be strong.  Heaven knows, that is one strong-willed child!  But as I sat there I was thankful all over again that it is me going through this and not one of my children.  I don’t know how I would deal with that!

****************************

And the whole 30 days of thankfulness…I haven’t mustered (is that a word?) up the strength to play catch up, and don’t know if I will, but rest assured that I am more thankful than ever during this season of Thanksgiving.

My family is blessed beyond measure and I every time I begin to write what I’m thankful for I become too overwhelmed and can’t decide where to begin (and my arms start hurting just thinking about it 😉  ) – so ANYWAY, I have a few Thanksgiving posts I want to write, but have decided not to have a top 30 list, for now!

*****************************

Happy Birthday, Lydia!

My sister is one thing (person!) that I am definitely thankful for.  She takes care of me and the kids when she has a gazillion other things on her plate that she probably needs to be working on, but she still makes us a priority.

I love you, sissy!  Hope this is a good year for you!

******************************

My SIL Whitney is having a baby boy in December.  I wanted to go shopping for a gift for her and on Saturday I told Brandon I thought I felt like heading to Raleigh.

When he got back from breakfast with the girls we headed out.  It was a gorgeous day and it felt very weird to be out of the house.  Guess how many stores we made it through before I was holding on to the buggy wondering if I could make it through to pay for my stuff?  Not even one.  So frustrating.  How am I gonna go Black Friday shopping if I don’t have more stamina than that?!

Well anyway, the church had a shower for her on Sunday and it was so good to see the people from my Sunday School class.  I have seen them as they bring meals to me, but at least I wasn’t wearing my pajamas when they saw me this time. 🙂

And our Sunday School teachers have just been above and beyond generous with meals, visits and prayers.  We appreciate that more than I can write here.

Look at this beautiful wreath two of the ladies from the class made and brought me last week:

My Fight Like a Girl wreath!

 

 

I was touched!

They started making these wreaths and they donate part of the proceeds to ministry to provide sustainable food to villages in Ethiopia.  Isn’t that neat?!

You can see more of what they make on their FB page: Chicks for Change

*******************************

One last funny story about Cadence and my hair –

My mom was getting the girls ready for the shower on Sunday and then she said, “alright Candace, fix your hair and let’s go….” – you know, just kidding with me…

Cadence looked at me and then looked at my mom and said, “But mommy doesn’t have any hair, grandma!”  Hahahahaha.  That made us all laugh.  Poor Cadence, she probably didn’t know what to think.

I wonder sometimes what Ella would say if she talked, but she still doesn’t say much.   These kiddos keep me going.  They are all so precious.

Six down…two to go!!!

****************************

I am going to try really really really hard to be more regular with my blogging moving forward.

Tomorrow I’ll at least pop in and try to give an update on the rest of my treatment schedule through the holidays and a little progress report on my mom and uncle.

And Aunt Judy will be here, so it is craft day…maybe I’ll have a burst of energy and take some pics.  Rumor has it they’ll be making homemade pizza and little turkeys.  🙂

Goodnight!

 

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wimpy

  1. I’m always reading, my friend! ❤ you so much, I just love that you've kept your sense of humor through all of this (Wimp!). LOL. Just a few more treatments, you can DO this!

  2. Cindy says:

    I’m thankful that you are sharing your faith, family, and journey with all of us. You are such an inspiration, especially because you don’t gloss over the hard parts. You reaffirm that our faith does not mean we won’t have struggles…it means God will be there walking with us and giving us strength. Praying for you!

  3. Colleen says:

    your sense of humor is awesome!!!!!!!! when i was younger( like way younger!!LOL!!) i worked with a pharmacist who got diagnosed with MS like 2 weeks after i started working with him……..i was 15 yrs old. he taught me so many life lessons about using your sense of humor for medicine…….he was the one person that had the biggest effect on who and how i wanted to be when i got older. i know i laugh sometimes when i’m not supposed to……but laughter keeps me sane, and i swear it keeps me and my kids healthy!!!!!!! i went and visited the pharmacist 4 yrs ago, he was 87 and not in good health……..we laughed so hard at some of the pranks we played on the other local business owners, and just reminiscing about the 10 yrs i worked with him…….and when i was leaving, his wife walked me out, and said, she thinks i just bought ronny another year of life….we will be hearing these stories now , over and over for the next year!!!!!LOL!!!!!!! ronny lived 2 more years, and when i went to his wake, lil, his wife, remembered what she had said to me that day, and laughed and said, you bought him 2 yrs colleen, over and over, and over, we all listened to those stories!!!!!!!!!!!!!! don’t ever lose your sense of humor, candace !!!!!!!! laughter, truly is the best medicine!!!!!!!!! love ya

  4. Susan Wilder says:

    So glad to here from you, Wimpy! I we are so thankful that we know you. You are a true blessing. We love you!

Leave a Reply

