Most Wonderful Time of the Year

I do love the holidays.  The food, the family, the music, the gifts…wrapping, cooking, cleaning, decorating, shopping…this year I feel woefully behind.

I took some pictures of my decorations to participate in a blog hop last week, but I didn’t get them uploaded in time to participate.  Maybe I will have time to post them one day before Christmas.

Today I made some progress with wrapping…or rather the wrapping fairy (elf?!) did…she came over and wrapped every single one of my gifts.  And tied bows on all of them.  They are beautiful!!!  Thank you so much, Elaine.  I didn’t count on you doing all of that today, but I definitely appreciate it!

***************************

I am back on full-time mommy duty for the time being.  And boy, I forgot how exhausting it is.  I love it though.  And I’m excited about the fact that I don’t have to go back to the doctor until December 28th.   I think the girls are excited about that, too.  Ella is being especially clingy, and doesn’t want to get out of my lap!  Pretty sure she is afraid I am going to leave again for 10 days if she lets me out of her sight.

**************************

re: My recovery — feeling stronger every day, but not very strong right now.  As I type that I realize that I never shared my very good news from the other day, but I truly got the most wonderful gift when I had my post-op visit last Friday (12/9).  I had two appointments that day…the first one was with our wonderful oncology nurse, Katie.

She came in the room looking extra chipper – she asked if anyone had talked to me yet and I told her not yet.  She showed me a sheet of paper with three lines highlighted.  I don’t have the paper right in front of me, but the gist of it is this:

The pathologists found 0% cancer in any of the tissue they removed during the surgeries and they found 0% cancer in all of my lymph nodes they removed.  What a blessing.  God is good (all the time).

Brandon and I were elated by this news.  The doctors were even all really excited.  They said they don’t get to share that kind of news every day…they said the reports come back like that 5% or less of the time.  I’m happy to be in the 5% of this statistic for sure!!!  It is overwhelming to me when I consider those that go through treatment and surgery like me and discover that they have quite a bit of cancer remaining after a full chemo regimen. I don’t know why God found favor on me in regards to this, but I am so thankful.

It truly is the most wonderful time of the year.  Feeling very fortunate and blessed tonight.

 

*********************************

Oh, and my brother and his wife are expecting their first child, and I think she’s in early labor and will have the baby by this time tomorrow night!!!  Can’t wait to meet and hold my new nephew!  And maybe I can share some pictures!

For now though, contemplating going to bed.  I have  a nasty cold trying to creep up on me.

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Most Wonderful Time of the Year

  1. whitney says:

    and such beautiful cousins Hank will have!

  2. colleen says:

    fantastic news!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that is such amazing news candace!!!!!!!
    good luck to your brother and his wife with labor/delivery!!!!! this really is turning into a miraculous holiday season…..0% cancer in pathology findings and a new baby into the family…..truly amazing!!!!!! enjoy your littles!!!!!

  3. Krista says:

    What wonderful news! That is certainly the best Christmas present for you to receive this year!

  4. Merry Christmas to you all – what a blessing.

  5. Susie says:

    Praise God!!!!!!!!!!!!! for your cancer free blessings 🙂

  6. Susan Wilder says:

    We are thrilled with your good news. What a wonderful blessing. The children look beautiful. Would love to see all of you. Have a wonderful Christmas.

  7. Becky Johnson says:

    So thankful for your great pathology report! Love the picture of your beautiful children! Merry, Merry Christmas and the Happiest New Year!!!

  8. Lavon & Ralph Motsinger says:

    Wonderful to hear your good report! I get all teary and warm inside when I hear testimonies like yours! God truly is good all the time……….
    Ralph (Eugene) and I send our warmest greetings to you and yours! You are so lovely!

  9. Linda James says:

    So glad to hear about your good report! Praise the Lord for his blessing on you and your family. What a precious picture of your children! Can’t believe they are so big!!!

  10. Dot Mills says:

    Candice, We rejoice with you. and continue to Pray for you and yours..I love this season of the year too, as we celebrate Jesus birth. I still remember some wonderful christmas dinners at your Fran’s[Katie’s]. house.
    Love, Cousin Dot’s & Bill’s house.

Leave a Reply

