I Need Thee Every Hour

I need Thee every hour, most gracious Lord;
No tender voice like Thine can peace afford.

I need Thee, O I need Thee;
Every hour I need Thee;
O bless me now, my Savior,
I come to Thee. [A. Hawks]

I have had several morning appointments at Duke over the past week for physical therapy.  A benefit of these appointments, and a benefit of driving alone, is the ability to drive undistracted — listening to what I want to!

I’ve listened to K-Love here and there and to some hymns a little bit, but I REALLY love listening to preaching on the radio.  I’ve been able to catch Dr. Erwin Lutzer before my earliest appointments, and today I was able to listen to Wisdom for the Heart —  a broadcast from Colonial Baptist in Cary that is on The Bible Broadcast Network (BBN).  I have always enjoyed Dr. Davey’s teachings; I used to listen to him frequently when I was commuting to Raleigh every day.

Today in his message he shared the story behind the hymn I Need Thee Every Hour – a hymn that I was familiar with, but not one I had paid a great deal of attention to until I heard Sonya Isaacs singing it with the Gaithers.  Her voice makes me pay attention to almost anything she sings!

Anyway, Annie Hawks wrote the lyrics to the hymn in 1872 – like most women in her era, she was a stay at home mom.  I felt an instant connection to the song!

I need God in every aspect of my life, but I especially need Him as I navigate through day by day as a parent!

Praying for myself that tomorrow when I have three people at my feet while I am cooking supper (crying, trying to smash their fingers in the cabinet, begging for food!), I will hear that “…tender voice like thine…” and demonstrate a reflection of the Holy Spirit to my children.

Maybe show some of those fruits that all Christians should be overflowing with: love, joy, peace, PATIENCE, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control… “Yeehaw!”  [Anybody remember singing that at the CLUB Retreat in Boone?!])

Here are some other verses from the hymn that are just as applicable:

I need Thee every hour, stay Thou nearby;
Temptations lose their power when Thou art nigh.

I need Thee every hour, in joy or pain;
Come quickly and abide, or life is in vain.

I need Thee every hour, most Holy One;
O make me Thine indeed, Thou blessed Son.

********************************

And for fun,  a picture of those lovely children as they played together after their bath. I think this was after an intense 20 minutes of ring around the rosies.  They all fell down.

I know it is after Christmas.  But the Santa pjs were clean. All the other ones weren’t. 🙂

***************************************

Maybe the girls were grumpy as I cooked tonight because I didn’t let them help me make a cake like we did last night:

Or maybe they were upset because daddy wasn’t home yet to distract them with some dancing while I finished up with the cooking:

At any rate, as you can see, things are getting back to normal here — our old normal — which is  now our new normal!  It will all change again here in a week or so when I start radiation, but for today, I am just trying to enjoy every minute of it.

Because I know these little people don’t stay little for very long.

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Need Thee Every Hour

  1. Ruth says:

    One of my favorite hymns! If you want, have a listen to this recording of it (different melody, but still nice, i think – and my good friend Sarah Catherine is singing and has a gorgeous voice so don’t tell me if you don’t like it. ;))

    So happy to hear that you are getting more glimpses of the old/new normal!!!

  2. Lavon & Ralph Motsinger says:

    You are so lovely! I enjoy reading your thoughts every day! I know our Father is pleased with you!

  3. Denise says:

    This hymn was one of the first I heard the day I found out I had breast cancer. It meant so much more than ever before. You know you need Him everyday but sometimes it is every minute of every day. Just knowing He is there is such a special comfort! Glad things are getting back to normal. The radiation is going to be a piece of cake in comparrison to all you have already gone through! Love and prayers.

  4. Nancy Stone says:

    Candace – you inspire us all. Keep up the positive thinking. I have not heard that preacher but I do like K-Love. ncs

  5. Susie says:

    I love seeing your pictures and captions of your children. 🙂

Leave a Reply

