Last year at this time…

Last year at this time I had just gotten off the phone with Dr. Baker from the Breast Imagery clinic at Duke.  I had an aggressive, early Stage 3 breast cancer and was about to begin a whirlwind of testing, biopsies and scheduling so I could begin chemotherapy as soon as possible.  Well, actually we didn’t know all of those details at the time, but bottom line, he confirmed it was cancer.  It would take a few weeks for all the details to shake out.

Last year at this time, the prospect of eight rounds of chemo filled me with dread, a double mastectomy to follow seemed like a nightmare, and being finished with radiation seemed like a distant dream.

But now it is all behind me!  All the blood, sweat and tears are a thing of the past…at least most days.

What an emotional roller coaster this past year has been.  So many “ups” — the love and support I received from my family and friends AND the peace and mercy that God provided me during this trial were very real..

If I had ever doubted the love of my family and friends, it was reaffirmed in a very clear way.  My number one Love Language is SERVICE and when I was in bed for 9 months watching everyone take care of my family (and me), I knew in those moments that I was loved.

Every single card, phone call, comment, email…every meal, visit and gift…every prayer you prayed…I knew I was loved.

That is not to say that every day was sunshine and roses.  It was hard to give up control.  It was depressing not to be able to get out of bed.  I hated the nausea.  I hated that it hurt to walk.  The surgery was painful.  I hated most of all that I couldn’t take care of my kids like I wanted to.

But the Great Physician was taking care of me!

And now, one year later, I am trusting in Him that I am cancer free and well on the way to getting back to NORMAL.  My hair is back.  My appetite is back. 🙂  I take care of the kids on my own.  I clean my house on my own (sometimes!).  I cook meals on my own (most of the time).  I have truly been blessed.

************************

Today, I still tire very easily and I still visit the hospital much too frequently for my liking, but I am doing well!  I met with one of my doctors on Monday and she feels like I am recovering “at or above average.”

I still have some upcoming procedures and surgeries that I am kind of dreading, but I will continue to take things one day at a time, and hopefully NEXT YEAR at this time, all of the dread will be a distant memory and I will only remember the good times!

Good times like this one…I said to the girls, “Kiss her on the cheek…”  For once, they both listened. lol

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Last year at this time…

  1. jenni says:

    “The Lord has done great things for us and our hearts are filled with joy.” Praise God for the goodness and mercy shown to y’all over the last year. I am so excited to see what’s next.

  2. Gail Messer says:

    Thankful that you are doing well and looking forward to reading in a year from now that things are completely back to normal 🙂

  3. Nancy Stone says:

    Wish I could write some words that could equal the miracle we have all witnessed. I can’t so I will humbly thank God for looking after you and also thank the dozens who supported you. You are
    one more trouper.

  4. Laura says:

    Love it!!! Still praying for you… You are so special to me!!

  5. Phyllis Dixon says:

    You are truley an Amazing Lady!!! May God continue to Bless you and your family!!

  6. Allie says:

    I can’t believe it’s been a year. Your strength through the whole thing amazed me and continues to amaze me to this day. You are a fighter and an inspiration to women everywhere.

  7. charlotte jones says:

    YOUR faithfulness is a powerful witness for Jesus. In our weakness, He is strong. I thank our Heavenly Father for His amazing healing power. You and Brandon are truly loved by so many of us, and it is incredibly clear that God loves you too. Thank you for inspiring me to trust God with my future. Your example presents a tremendous challenge for me. I love you and Brandon and your precious little ones. Charlotte Jones

  8. Lavon & Ralph Motsinger says:

    So good to hear from you. Keep on keeping on! Father God holds all of us in the palm of His Hand.

  9. Lisa McElroy says:

    I have been thinking about you! I check in on a regular basis to see if there is any updates. I am so glad you are doing well. The kids have grown sooo much! We continue to keep you in our prayers daily. You are such an inspiration! Love ya-Lisa

  10. colleen says:

    you are one of the strongest women i know!!!!! you muttled through this past year with such grace and dignity…..are you sure your not from royalty???? you are amazing and i love you and your kids…..and your still in my thoughts and prayers daily!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

