Brave Taylor!

*UPDATED AGAIN*

I talked to Taylor’s mom recently and she told me that she had raised over $8,500 … this one child has raised over $8,500 with the match from the company – isn’t that awesome?!  WTG Taylor! 🙂

****************

I had so many people taking care of me when I was sick and undergoing treatments.  Outside of my family, the effort was led by our Sunday School teachers, Neil and Wanda and Charles and Mary.    How privileged we were to have them praying for us and making sure our needs were met.

Last night I got a message from Mary regarding her daughter, Taylor.

Here is a picture of Taylor:

When Mary brought food, Taylor and her little sister Logan would run in and it never phased them one bit to see me sitting in the recliner just bald as could be.  They would come right over to my chair, flash their pretty little smiles and ask me how I was doing.

They showered me with thoughtful gifts, warm visits, sincere prayers and of course, the aforementioned hot meals. 🙂

And guess what Taylor is going to do now…she is going to cut all of her hair off and shave it!

From Taylor: I, Taylor Marie, will be going “Bald” to raise money and keep the dream alive for a Cure! Every 3.5 minutes a child is diagnosed with cancer. Please help me by supporting my cause….This is a decision that I have made to keep hope alive for kids that are fighting for their life.

Isn’t that brave?  I had flashbacks to shaving my head.  I was so overwhelmed and scared even though I didn’t think I would be.

But you know what, just as soon as we started cutting, my fears were gone, and here I am a year later needing a haircut!

UPDATE: To give to Taylor’s campaign, follow this link.  She has some contributions that aren’t showing up yet, but she is a little over halfway there and has $2500+ … let’s help her reach her $5,000 goal…money has to be submitted by tomorrow (Friday 8/17) morning: http://www.stbaldricks.org/participants/mypage/572485/2012

*******************

I made a little collage of my hair before/afters…looking back at this it is amazing to me how quickly time has passed!

Taylor, you are brave!  Can’t wait to see how beautiful your little head is.

Taylor is accepting donations for St. Baldrick’s to help find a cure for children’s cancers.  Contact me if you don’t know Taylor but would like to contribute.

About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brave Taylor!

  1. colleen says:

    wow……..just wow!!!!!! what a beautiful, brave girl…….you were obviously gorgeous bald, and you must be her motivation to do this…..;) let her have some fun with your wigs!!!!LOL!!!!!! all joking aside, taylor sounds like she is going to be one of those little people that makes things happen!!!! the world needs more taylors!!!!!!!! what a rockstar!!!!!!!! ❤

  2. Julie says:

    What an amazing and giving little girl! To be so giving at such a young age is beautiful…as I’m sure she will be once her hair is donated! And you’ve been beautiful through your whole process, hair or no hair!!

  3. Nicole says:

    Wow, what a wonderful, kind and thoughtful young lady. She will be as beautiful as you were and are!

Leave a Reply

