The BEST update!

Sometimes I forget that people other than my very close family read this blog (because I make them 😉 ) and I have a tendency to leave details out of my posts!

Then last week I had lots of messages from concerned friends regarding my surgery and just wanting to know if the cancer was back, if I had been having problems, exactly what type of surgery I had….and all that good stuff – sooooo, I am happy to report:

pathology hyst fin

That’s right, that says, “PATHOLOGY IS NEGATIVE FOR CANCER!”  Not that I expected anything differently!  Had a good feeling about all of that.  Praise the Lord!

On Oct. 24 I had a total (or maybe they call it complete?) hysterectomy….basically they took everything they could — ovaries, uterus, Fallopian tubes, etc…  They did the surgery laparoscopically. I had not been having any problems and did not suspect any cancer was back – this was totally a preventative measure.  My breast cancer was attributed to a BRCA gene mutation that I have, and it also increased my ovarian cancer risk up to 50% (or one in two … if two people have my gene mutation, one of us would get the cancer) — the problem is, doctors can not effectively screen for ovarian cancer.  By the time it is visible via screening, it usually means it is large and/or has spread to other nearby organs and is therefore, more difficult to treat.

It was a tough decision to decide to go on with the surgery.  I don’t think there is anything sweeter than a newborn baby and I still am not sure I can squash this baby fever forever, but it was what I needed to do to give myself the best chance to prevent the cancer from coming back.  No boobs, no uterus, no ovaries…no problem. 🙂

And I do have these sweet things…
sister-love-1

Aren’t they precious?

pbn

And I already posted this one on Facebook, but I loved how sweet and giggly they were 🙂

pbn2

I haven’t felt a whole lot like taking pictures and I think I missed all the pretty leaves this year, but I did go out to try to get birthday pictures of Wade.  The girls were being camera hogs that day…Between the girls wanting their picture made and Wade being more interested in playing, I didn’t really get many of him. Minnie and Mickey didn’t want their picture made either…

IMG_31982

I have been selective about pictures I have posted of Wade because his eyes have been crossing so bad.  But he is just as sweet as he can be and he’ll be having surgery next week to hopefully correct the crossing!  Please say a prayer for him — the surgery itself is pretty low risk, but he will be under general anesthesia which is always a little bit scary and of course even though the risks are low, they pertain to his vision, so any complications could compromise that.

His eyes don’t cross every day, but most day we get to see this sweet little face.

IMG_9076

 

So anyway, that is what is going on with me.  Today marks two weeks post-surgery.  Brandon went back to work this week after being Mr. Mom and nurse last week for us!   I have been doing really well recovery-wise. I have just a twinge of pain remaining and mostly am just working to regain my energy at this point!

THANK YOU for everyone that has blessed us with a meal and/or visit! We appreciate that so much.  Mr. Mom is not a cook. 😉

And I just realized I totally just admitted to my pride a few sentences ago in not wanting to share pictures of Wade’s crooked eyes! Don’t we want our children to be perfect?  I know God desires that of us too!   Not in a physical sense, but spiritually.

Praying today that my life will be a reflection of God’s grace and mercy and “let others see Jesus in me!”   Praying for the fruits of the spirit to be evident in my life.   

While passing through this world of sin,
and others your life shall view,
Be clean and pure without, within;
Let others see Jesus in you.

Your life’s a book before their eyes,
They’re reading it through and through
Say, does it point them to the skies,
Do others see Jesus in you?


About Candace

Stay at home mom of three small kids (3, 2, and almost 1) -- about to embark on the biggest journey of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The BEST update!

  1. Colleen says:

    This really is the best post ever!!!!!! To see it spelled out Negative for Cancer……just awesome relief!!!!!! i love all your pics…..but i tell you that everytime you post 🙂 ❤ ya sweetie, i'm so glad your healing!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Lavon & Ralph Motsinger says:

    O, my dear what an awesome report. I love your heart for Jesus and your family. The pictures of your children are so precious; we will pray for Wade.

  3. Laura says:

    Love this post….. Prayers, and we are always here for you all! ❤️❤️

  4. Maureen says:

    Candace, thanks for sharing openly about your life…you are an inspiration!

  5. Betsy says:

    So good to see you today. Praising GOD for this great report and for HIS faithfulness. It has been good to reconnect with you and meet your children.

  6. Lisa says:

    I am so glad to hear the good news! I am glad you are recovering well. Your children are beautiful! How is Wade doing? You truly are an inspiration and a wonderful mommy!

Leave a Reply

